Winding down January

As per usual, there is a lot going on, but this last full week of January has brought activity in a good way. YAY! I’m still struggling a bit with anxiety, but I’m not going to let that steal my joy. I need to be more purposeful in recognizing the good things in my life and letting the bad stuff go. With that said…

I made my cousin’s daughter her birthday cake. She wanted a unicorn cake that was found on Pinterest. I think it turned out pretty awesome even though you can’t see all the sparkle in the picture. The bonus win for me was that I got to test out my new airbrush tool!! And it appears I am going to get 3 more cake orders from people that attended the party. Sweet! I have a birthday cake due tomorrow, and a baby shower cake due next week too. đŸ™‚

img_0130

After much research, talk about waiting, and debate, I traded in my 2013 Dodge Grand Caravan that was completely paid off for a 2017 Dodge Ram 1500 Big Ram! EEEEEK!!! I completely LOVE it! I knew I wanted a truck when I was able to downsize from the seating capacity of a van, but I wasn’t sure which one. I swear I researched every kind of truck made (ok except Chevy…sorry Chevy fans). My husband had talked me into getting a silver color of whatever kind I chose, but then this one had everything (and more) that I wanted. It had 18 miles on it when I first got in. *Swoon* One of the coolest features is the storage on the side on the bed…it can be used as a COOLER!! Oh tailgating is gonna be a blast!fullsizerender

My poor master bathroom is the last room in the house that really hasn’t been touched when we moved in (other than to repaint the HIDEOUS yellow that it was and put a frame around the mirror). I was getting some stuff at Hobby Lobby, and came across a perfect piece of framed art. Our bathroom is grey, white, and both dark blue and lighter blue. We have had this blank sort of wall over a bathtub that we tried to use once (WAY too shallow). With a $1.00 word art and $5.00 clearance framed art…voila:img_0140

Now the day I showed my husband this, he decided it was time to start working on said bathroom. We lost 90% of our hot water to the shower last week or so, and he managed to get that up and going again (despite my hesitation and quasi-support…Thank you Honey!). We went to Lowe’s and found cabinets we both like and even a couple of counter tops we like. We finally (after much discussion and me realizing he was right…yes I said it…he was right), decided we didn’t need a bathtub. What we need is a much bigger shower (ours is like a one person don’t turn around kind of tiny shower right now). So…we are going to take it one piece at a time, and it looks like the master bathroom remodel has begun. Oh…and I’m still going to find a place for my framed art! LOL!

Last but not least, I conducted some professional development for my online learning staff the other day. I’ve been reading a leadership blog and following a general on Twitter. He put out a really cool acronym, and I adapted it to fit my workshop. This is the beginning of a theme for next school year for us, and I’m excited to see how it comes along. Pardon the relatively awful drawing of what is supposed to be icicles at the top. HA!

img_0149

That wraps it up for this week. Coming soon: a 1/2 marathon and 5K race…yes that is back-to-back distances at the same event, t-ball season starting, and my sister’s wedding events begin.

One thought on “Winding down January

Leave a comment