Catching up and Turning the Page

Hello, hello! The sun is out today, and I’m ready to turn the page. But first, a quick catch-up.

  • My grandma passed away suddenly Tuesday just before noon. She told my mom she was done and ready to go home to be with grandpa. After getting out of the shower, she told my mom she was tired, collapsed, and that was it. She is with grandpa now, and she didn’t waste any time at all showing me that to be true. No this is not photoshopped. This floating double rainbow is just from my grandma. 🙂

fullsizerender-1

  • My husband’s police department sent him (as part of their honor guard) to the two law enforcement officer’s funerals in Orlando, FL this past weekend. I was able to accompany him to the one on Sunday (because my grandma’s funeral was Saturday evening, I couldn’t be there for the Saturday one), and it was moving, faith-filled, and horrible yet awesome all at the same time. Deputy Norman Lewis would have celebrated his birthday last weekend, so his parents had all of us sing Happy Birthday during the service. I barely held it together.
  • Yesterday I went to the optometrist and found out I still have 20/15 vision in both of my eyes and my LASIK is still holding strong. I am in year 4 post surgery, and I’m still so glad I had the procedure done.

Today is a new day. A new beginning. Today, I am back at work, I’m planning my sister’s bridal shower for her wedding coming up in March, the Navy selection board is meeting today (for some reason I thought it was the 9th, but I was wrong), and I think my sister is going to go for a 10 mile run with me tonight. I have a half marathon Feb. 5th and another one March 25 with a 5K January 28th. Basically, I’m just trying to stay in shape…just in case…well and to fit into my bridesmaid dress LOL!

2017 has sucked, but the good news is that my marriage is super strong (Thank God I have been blessed with such and amazing husband!), my kids are healthy, I have a career I love, and my husband has come home safely to me every night. I am incredibly blessed.

My church has started a new message series about sayings that people believe are Christian and true when in reality they are false. This week it was: “God never gives you more than you can handle”. What a crock!!! God ALWAYS wants to give you more than you can handle so that you RELY ON HIM! If you could do everything, why would you need God? He wants you on your knees depending on Him to get you through the trials and tribulations of life. It’s when we try to do it all on our own, that we forget how much we need him. I have always hated that saying, and now I’m glad I can better articulate the truth when people say it.

And that, my friends, is how I am turning the page on 2017 and starting a new chapter. 2017 Take Two.

snip_20170117111503

One thought on “Catching up and Turning the Page

Leave a comment